Does the advent of internet change the role of teacher? To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, it is considered that ubiquity of internet has transformed the role of teacher. As such, there are both merits and demerits to this argument, however, I am of the opinion that the latter outdo the former.

There are myriads of arguments in favor of my stance. Firstly, the most conspicuous one is that the teachers have a direct contact and relationship with the students which gives teachers an advantage to understand their students behavior and act accordingly. Not only, teachers can understand the aptitude of their class and students, but also change their teaching techniques that best suit and benefit their students. Needless to say, that these upsides provide teachers a great stand, as far as imparting knowledge and understanding the needs of students is concerned.

However, another pivotal aspect of my argument is that the use of internet instead of teachers. Unlike teachers, internet holds ample of information and also can be used as a media for online learning with flexible hours as per an individual's requirement. These features lack the understanding of human behavior which is essential to promote a good learning environment. Hence, it is apparent that why many are against the change in the role of teachers due to advent of internet.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the benefits of teacher student relationship are indeed too great to ignore.