Eventually, electric cars will solve all of our transport and environmental issues.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of electric cars with regards to this statement. Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

Electric cars are becoming more common as car manufacturers move from oil consuming cars to those powered by batteries. Some people believe that all transport and environmental issues will eventually be solved by electric cars. However, I don't believe it is so straightforward. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of electric cars in relation to these two issues.

The advantages of electric cars are numerous, including decreasing greenhouse gas emissions, improving noise pollution and clearing our air of exhaust fumes. All of these issues currently are associated with petrol based cars that destroy the atmosphere, make noise and put pollution into the air. For example, trucks are notorious for producing all three of these issues. In short, electric cars will solve many environmental issues because of their advantages.

In terms of transport issues being solved, however, electric cars will be less advantageous. As electric cars become more popular and widespread there will still be traffic and parking issues, to name but a few. Recent research shows that as electric cars become more affordable more of these types of cars will be on the road worsening current traffic congestion and parking problems. Put simply, electic cars will not solve our transport issues.

This essay discussed the advantages and disadvantages of electric cars with regards to environmental and transport issues and argued that while electric cars will improve our environment they will not solve our transport issues. In my opinion, electric car usage should be encouraged but other solutions should be sought.