It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. Some people believe that the year off is a waste of time while others believe that it is necessary.

Choose which position you most agree with and discuss why you chose that position. Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

In recent years, students are immensely taking a year off right after they finish school; consequently, they end up planning well for their future which helps them a lot. It can also have some negative impact as well. This essay will discuss it is cause and effects, moreover, will recommend some suggestions on this topic as well.

Firstly, students can lack behind from their peers and can find themselves in a situation where their fellow class mates are ahead of them not only in terms of academic studies but also in their professional career. Apart from that, in some cases, an individual can go into depression if longer breaks are taken on regular basis. Therefore, the students will always see their friends ahead of them.

On the other hand, having a one year break can actually be helpful and refreshing sometimes. Consequently, an individual can start the university with fresh mind which can help them stay more energized at the start of the university. It is also important to highlight that students can also complete any of their unfinished work which they were not able to fulfill in the past, therefore, it is very important to plan their holidays accordingly. Additionally, spending quality time with friends and family can also be added advantage.

In conclusion, in my opinion, individuals can benefit more if they continue their studies without a one year off, therefore, I would strongly recommend taking short breaks rather than long breaks especially right after finishing school.