“The solution to the overpopulation of this planet is education.”

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this statement. Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations

The increasing population globally has become a debate these days. There are several solutions provided by the experts to overcome this issue. However, it is not that easy and some believe those solutions can be very challenging but they can still play important part if implemented globally, one of them is education. In my view, by providing education to our children, we can efficiently solve the problem of immense population. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument.

To begin with, there are many reasons why education can be a vital solution to overcome the overpopulation. The most conspicuous one is that education brings awareness, knowledge and sense of responsibility in an individual that helps them to analyse their current situation, some decision can be made based on the analysis. Furthermore, if any family has fewer sources of income but more family members, it can be difficult for them to make both ends meet. For example, when a family of 6 to 8 members to out to dine out, they may end up ordering less food to not only control their budget but also have a fair share of food among them.

Nevertheless, in some countries it can be very challenging to provide education at all levels. Some African countries like Uganda, Kenya and Nigeria do not have enough budgets assigned to education. This does not mean overpopulation cannot be control in such countries. Moreover, there is no support from government in rolling out awareness campaigns that will spread the awareness among people. For instance, as per the research done in University of Canada, population rate has decreased by 5.7% over the last 3 years after such campaigns were rolled out and stream lined at district level.

To conclude, I strongly suggest that overpopulation can be controlled by providing a high level of education and running awareness campaigns within the major cities. It is proven by the countries like China that controlling population can have immense impact on economic growth of the country.