Exams are commonly used in most schools and universities. Some people think exams should be replaced by other forms of assessment. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the phenomenon of different ways for students’ assessments and their corresponding impact has sparked a heated debate. Although contested by many that the matter of standard questions is highly beneficial, such issue is regarded thoroughly both constructive and positive by a substantial number of individuals. I am inclined to believe that comprehensive analyzing methods can be a plus, and I will analyze that throughout this essay.

From an educational standpoint, using traditional ways to evaluate students' knowledge can provide schools with some noticeable effects which are rooted in the fact that the merits of accurate questions, as well as the ease of analysis, are inextricably bound up. Thus, beneficial ramifications of the economic and time-saving method for result assessments apparently can be seen. According to my own experience as a teacher, I found that grading students based on clear and standard exams are easier than alternative ways.

On the other hand, I believe that modern forms of evaluation in schools might increase the consequences of deep education. The reason is, the fundamental aspects of new assessments such as open book exams and collaborative tests could relate to this reality that the demerits of traditional exams pertain to the lack of real-world contexts. As a tangible example, some scientific research undertaken by UCLA University has asserted that the downside of shallow learning is correlated negatively with score-based exams. Hence, it is correct to presume the preconceived notion of applying knowledge in a long process.

To conclude, while there are several compelling arguments on both sides, I profoundly believe that the benefits of replacing alternative assessment methods far outweigh its drawbacks. Not only do the advantages of long-form responses prove the significance of considering all aspects of learning, but also pinpoint using problem-solving skills and experiments rather than memorizing resource.