If Voting is compulsory in a democratic society, what conclusions can we draw about Nature of democracy?

Recently, the phenomenon of mandatory voting in democratic countries and its corresponding impacts on the nature of freedom has sparked a heated debate. Although contested by many that the matter of legitimate representation via compulsory registration is highly beneficial, such issue is regarded thoroughly both constructive and positive by a substantial number of individuals. I am inclined to believe that Protecting the right to choose can be a plus, and I will analyze both views throughout this essay.

Within the realm of policy, compulsory vote in an election can push the candidates to have to address the needs of all the voters. Moreover, the fundamental aspects of setting rules with one-sided bias could relate to this reality that the demerits of incomplete rules pertain to the presence of a representative from a particular faction. As a tangible example, some political research on compulsory voting in Australia has asserted that the efficiency of its parliament is correlated with the contribution in elections by more than 95% of citizens.

From a social standpoint, being obligatory to participate in a vote can provide the society with some noticeable effects which are rooted in the fact that violation of the spirit of democracy, as well as worthless votes by uninterested voters, are inextricably bound up. According to my own experience, since I do not believe in the whole current structure of the government in my country, mandatory selection among candidates who do not represent my opinion is valueless.

To conclude, while there are several compelling arguments on both sides, I profoundly believe that the benefits of voluntary voting far outweigh its drawbacks. Not only do the advantages of respect for individual choice prove the significance of the real vote, but also it can shake up the political system.