Recently, the phenomenon of the view about reading and writing as literacy among people affected by Alvin Toffler's statement about literacy. Although contested by many that the ability to read and write cannot be highly beneficial in the 21st century, such an issue regarded as thoroughly constructive and positive by a substantial number of individuals. I am inclined to believe that the concept of literacy has changed in these years, and I will analyze that throughout this essay.

To begin with, there are various reasons to support Alvin's opinion about the illiterate in the 21st century. At first, the ability to read and write are beneficial to learn modern literacy. However, in the present century we nead to learn further things that accepted as literacy. For example, in the business, the businessmen should know modern ways of marketing, which developed by Internet facilities such as e-commerce.

In addition, the alphabet, reading, and writing are the base of literacy. But, they just for learning new sciences and knowledge that became necessity part of life in the world. For instance, recent scientific research conducted by MIT University researchers in 2014 has shown that the modern ways of communication such as sending the email and using the social networks have become the significant part of daily works in advanced societies.

In conclusion, while there are several compelling arguments on this statement, I profoundly believe that despite the importance of reading and writing in learning process, they are not mostly beneficial in literacy.