With the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. Universities should only

procure digital media rather than constantly updating textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view.

In contemporary era, the human society forging ahead with an amazing rate in various realms. Yet, at the same time, the grave issue that library forces the challenge in the light of the digital media has triggered intensive controversy. In the essay, we will discuss the benefits and drawbacks between them.

Undeniably, there is a widely believe that digital media give the latest information about the particular topic with many other options, compare with library. Furthermore, the limit of space and time is broken by digital media which is available in 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Nevertheless, it should recognize that watching screen for a long time is harmful to physical and psychological health. In addition, the effective media makes student’s work easier than before since information is convenient to get online, inducing students copy other’s assignments effortless.

From my view, the traditional library strength on substantial collections is not obviously with new media development. However, it is admittedly that libraries provide a free place to education, which is hard to make by digital media in poor countries and remote areas. Thus, to coöperate between libraries and new media is a win-win strategy. it is likely not only to improving the communication with readers effectively but also to solving the problem on materials and resources’ conservation.

To summarize, from what has been discussed, libraries and digital media play an essential role in people’s life, their mutual integration can contribute to universities education in a more effective way.