Information revolution has changed the way of mass communication and had some positive and negative effects on individuals lives as well as society. To what extent you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the role of mass communication has attracted many controversies and drawn attention from the public. Some people agree that this information revolution has changed the lives of people, while on the other hand, stands a perspective that there are some negatives consequences on the society. Perhaps, I believe that the advent of mass media has brought people closer to each other. This essay will further elaborate on both the sides and thus, will lead to a logical conclusion.

To begin with, there are various ways in which the mass media proves beneficial for society. The most conspicuous one is that the various forms of mass media provide the latest updates of the happenings around the globe. Moreover, it makes people well-informed about the international and domestic news that helps in their decision-making. Hence, in this way, mass communication helps in brain-storming and eventually broadens their horizon about the latest information.

Nevertheless, there are arguments which can certainly overwhelm the potential influence of information revolution. The most alarming one is that it displays the harsh realities of society in forms of violence, riots, crimes and terrorist activities. Furthermore, these activities influence the people negatively especially children and youngsters. For instance, some younger ones watch sitcoms or follow the trends on TV which are unacceptable and anti-social. Thus, there is no doubt that mass communication has some adverse effects on its people.

In view of the arguments outlined above, the impact of mass media is prominent in society as it keeps people abreast of the latest news, however, there are some drawbacks that can be well-handled.