Leadership and influence

Chevening is looking for individuals who will be future leaders or influencers in their home countries. Explain how you meet this requirement, using clear examples of your own leadership and influencing skills to support your answer.

(minimum word count: 100 words, maximum word count: 500 words)

Leadership, in my opinion, must be well founded on proper knowledge in order to lead. I remember this one meeting at Integrated Diagnostics Holdings (IDH), where I used to work. We met to find out the reason why there are so many differences in results obtained by some of our colleagues. I said ''procedures''. They got different results because they followed different procedures. The meeting ended with a decision to establish a new department aiming at teaching the crew the same procedures, monitoring their adhesion to those procedures, and evaluating them.

I was appointed as the head of the new department, and realizing that I need to come out with a solution to the abovementioned problem, I spent the following few days reading every reference included in the laboratory standard operation procedure manual and every Clinical & Laboratory Standards Institute (CLSI) guideline in parasitology and microbiology. In less than two weeks, my procedures scheme was ready and in use, and the problem was solved.

My pursuit for knowledge was the mean reason why I joined the 6th cycle of the International Medical Laboratory Scientist (IMLS) training program, offered by the Engineering & Science Services (ESS) at the American University in Cairo (AUC) which is one of the most prestigious institutes in Egypt.

Now I have my own laboratory, where I am applying the same procedures scheme, in order to minimize the chance of errors in results. And here I am, standing in the middle of crossroads of great choices, hoping form the bottom of my heart to be accepted in Chevening’s scholarship program, to obtain proper learning, which will affect my whole life, my patients, and my community.