In less developed

countries, are the disadvantages from tourism as great as the advantages?

In recent times, due to reduced fare to travel across the globe, many people are increasingly showing interest in exploring various places. Although tourism provides a lot many benefits, it has its own challenges to face. Although it is a matter of discussion, I tend to believe that the advantages of tourism are great when compared to the disadvantages.

Firstly, there are myriad of reasons in favor of my notion. But the conspicuous one is that tourism improves the employment rate by providing many opportunities to local people. For instance, a recent survey in Cambodia revealed that there is two percent of economic growth through tourism is observed amongst various sectors. Apparently, countries maintain more greenery so as to attract more tourists which is good for the environment.

However, there are challenges caused because of tourism. A few people locally might get influenced by tourists and there is a chance of threat to their tradition. Moreover, people might get attracted to a few items such as a camera from tourists. For example, many tourists reported in India that their valuable items were lost. Hence it is evident that there are a few disadvantages due to tourism.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the benefits of tourism are indeed too great to ignore.