in many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

Recently, the issue of elderly population growth has sparked an ongoing controversy, which inevitably leads to a moot question "Does this increasing trend have positive or negative impacts on our society?". Whereas it is a widely held view that increasing proportion of older people can have deterimental effects on the society, I will discuss controversial aspects of that throughout this essay.

From the social standpoint, the aging population problem is bound up inextricably with pensioners, which indicates that they lead to both increasing the generation gap and lack of workforce. As a well-known example, a longitudinal study conducted by eminent scientists in 2014 demonstrates the relationship between the working age and retirement age as well as an exponential increase in the unemployment rate. Their academic criticism was impressive. Consequently, my empirical evidence presented so far supports the contention that likelihood of demographic charactristics of the society is correlated positively with not only social service providers but also a drop in fertility and decreasing the birth rate.

Within the realm of economy, without the slightest doubt, rising elderly population attribute to more financial pressures on government, in that it would come down to pension commitments, health insurance costs, and extra nursing costs. A salient example of such attribution is a holistic pension scheme, which is a cause for concern since it was mistaken to take the working population for granted. Had there been a paradigm shift earlier, scholars might have had the opportunity to pinpoint the labore market problems. Hence, it is reasonable the pivotal role of negative effects of population aging.

To conclude, as for myself, as the saying goes, "all's well that ends well," after analyzing what elaborated above, I firmly believe that increasing number of older people in the society can have some serious negative impacts on the future of our society.