Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on individuals & Society. To what extent do you agree?

The role of social media website have become highly controversial. Some people who are proponents believe that it is beneficial to the society while others who are opponents consider it has negative implications on the pupils. This essay will elaborate both viewpoints with relevant examples and leads to a plausible conclusion,

On the one hand, there is a cornucopia of reasons in the favour of social networking websites but one of the most conspicuous stems to the fact that it allows people to connect with each other to share knowledge. In particular, Facebook study groups anyone can join from anywhere and take part. For instance, a painstaking research study conducted by eminent scientists claim that knowledge sharing through online groups has positive impact on the world. Thus, give equal opportunity to learn and horn their skills.

On the other hand, there are some pitfalls that negate with positive side of the arguments, and can certainly overwhelm the potential benefits of these websites and one alarming one rooted to the fact it creates social isolation. For an illustration, a longitudinal study published in the high ranked reputable journal shows people who use Facebook and other sites and social isolated. However, the same article also proposes some solutions.

In conclusion, there are some merits and demerits to use these sites but the positives far outweigh the negatives impact.