Marketing strategy for big companies should be placed on offer and discounts, and in what ways this can impact on their reputation. Discuss both views.

It is indubitable that marketing strategies for big companies play a pivotal role in building their reputation in this globalized era. The discussion whether these marketing strategies prove beneficial or harmful to the company's reputation is a debatable one and each side has its own logical arguments.

On one hand, critics may point out that by giving offers and discounts on various products, companies may entice customers. For instance, companies offer 50% sale to attract customers to shop more than usual. However, by offering such discounts the companies easily get rid of their old stock and can earn many profits. Furthermore, building customer relationship is also a major part of marketing strategy. To exemplify, there are many major firms that offer special discounts and offers on birthday anniversaries to build a strong relationship with their customers.

On the other hand, some people bolster their arguments by questioning quality of products companies offers during the time of sale. With all the offers and special discounts, most of the companies often reduce the quality of material they provide which hampers the reputation of the company altogether. The customers feel cheated and never tend to come back to the firm again.

To recapitulate, I would like to accentuate the fact that marketing strategies like offering discounts are a must for building the customer relationship, but quality of the product provided should not be compromised for the company's good reputation.