The means of communicating in society today has changed markedly over the last ten years, in your opinion, what are the positive and negative impacts of this change?

It is incontrovertible that the ways society used to convey information and messages have evolved considerably over the last decade. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend by providing relevant arguments and examples.

On the one hand, the most striking benefits of communication advancement are that people can connect with others without distance and time barriers. To be more specific, with the existence of smartphones and the development of instant messaging, voice and video calls as well as social networking platforms; individuals can send messages and share their photos instantly, at the click of a button. For example, the number of video conferences between participants from different geographical locations conducted via Skype or Outlook has increased dramatically over the past decades, which ameliorates the ways of conducting business on international scale.

On the other hand, despite the substantial advantages of telecommunication technologies, there are some drawbacks as well. Firstly, spending excessive time on the internet tend to distract people from the real in-person interactions and decrease the time they allocate to physical activities. Another downside is potential privacy issues, prime example is Facebook, the social networking website with almost a billion users, which faced a lawsuit claiming that it has been obtaining people’s private personal information and data in order to develop political campaigns.

To recapitulate, it is unquestionable that there myriad of positive and negative influences instigated by the transformation of communication methods. Hence, people should use them more effectively and selectively in order to avoid any shortcomings.