Medical technology is responsible for the human’s life expectancy. Discuss it.

Technology has changed the lives of people, and with its footprints in the medical field, it helped increase the life expectancy. Some consider this a positive development while others argue that it creates a financial burden on society. In this essay, necessary evidence will be provided on this topic before reaching a conclusion.

Medical technology has revolutionized the way diseases and patients are treated in today's world. It has enhanced the effectiveness and methodology such as X-rays, MRI and others to treat and diagnose different diseases. It has been reported that life expectancy which was 46.7 in 1990 has increased to 59.3 in the year 2016. Therefore, it is evident that medical technology has a huge impact on our lives as people can live long and happy lives with their loved ones.

In addition, life expectancy increase means less workforce as more people will fall in the old age class and there will be a decrease in the labor workforce category. It will also add cost in terms of routine medical checkups of the aged people and cause a financial burden on the families and ultimately on the countries. Further, it will increase the population and consume more resources and becomes a big problem for small countries with non-renewable resources. So, instead of positive, it also causes negative impacts.

To conclude, although there are some downsides to longer life expectancy which can be dealt with individual and collateral efforts, we should be thankful for the medical technology that we can live longer with our loved ones, and share happy moments.