Personal development is the base for professional development and advancing in one’s career. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is very important for a person to progress in his career by improving his personal abilities and characteristics which will make him superior to others in his field. There are other factors which hinder the process of personal development but they should not stop somebody to achieve his goals.

Personal development acts as a foundation stone in building the professional life of people. Those who want to meet their goals should continuously polish their skills by attending training, seminars; be vigilant of the new technologies and always ready to adapt to those. Studies show only 20% share in success comes from technical skills while personal attributes contribute the rest 80%. So it can be easily said that personal development is very crucial in someone’s professional life.

There is also an opinion that lack of resources and facilities come into the way of some people who want to excel in their careers and get top positions. This includes lack of money, good schools, colleges and means of transport, etc. But there are many examples of some businessmen who started from a very average background and with their persistent measures became very successful in their lives. This sums that although resources play an important role but to do better career goals the things which matter include persistence and commitment.

To conclude the text; although money and facilities are important but with continuous improvements in personal attributes people can achieve their career goals.