In under developed countries, tourism has disadvantages and can be said the opposite as well. Discuss your opinions and give examples

The impact of tourism in underdeveloped countries has always been a debatable topic. While some people fear that it will harm the cultural values of those nations, others believe that tourism will bring prosperity and boost the economy. This essay will discuss both sides and highlight important facts.

The significance of tourism has increased in recent years and many countries are spending a hefty amount of their budgets on the development of new resorts and upgrading the network of facilities associated with it. Tourism is believed to improve the economic conditions as it brings foreign investments with it. It was reported in a survey that Malaysia is earing around 200 Billion dollars through the tourism industry and is contributing a big part in shaping the economy of the country. Keeping in view the positive effects of tourism, many countries have started to focus more on its development.

There are also myriad of concerns by some people that although tourism has numerous benefits yet it will have some negative effects on the cultural heritage of the hosting nations. It can also lead to environmental impacts that affect cultural diversity. A research of a prestigious university shows that being a tourism magnet has an effect on the cultural degradation. Hence, it is correct to presume the preconceived notion of cultural values.

To conclude, keeping in view the above-stated arguments it can be derived that positives of the tourism development far outweigh its negative aspects. Not only that the tourism industry improves the economics of the countries, but it also helps the local businesses and upgrades the living standard of people.