In most of the education systems, students are assessed by written examinations. Do you think it is great idea or not.?

Nowadays, written examinations conducted in schools is a well-debated discussion and drawn attention from various education systems. Some people argue that these examinations judge student’s calibre, while on the other hand, stands a perspective that this is not a good idea. In my opinion, schools should use a more extensive method to assess students and avoid written exams. This essay will elaborate on both sides and thus, will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are various reasons why written exams are not a true barometer to check student’s performance. The most conspicuous one stems from the fact that most students do not cope with the exam pressure and mental phobia. Moreover, many students underperform in written exams due to the pressure and stress they undergo, however, they outperform if they go through practical assessments. Thus, it shows that it is not fair to judge student’s ability through two or three hours written exam

Nevertheless, there is another view, which can certainly overwhelm the potential effects of written exams on students. The most significant one is that some courses are more theoretical and requires a great learning ability in students. For instance, medical and professional courses include vast syllabus which requires students to have a good command of theory. For this reason, written exams are a good idea as they assess what a student has learnt whole year.

In the light of above discussion, one can conclude that the impact of written examinations on students is prominent, although schools should use a more appropriate method to judge students.