Online language learning has advantages over classroom instruction.

Choose whether you agree or disagree with this statement and discuss why you chose that position. Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

Learning languages online has become more popular in recent years. The medium lends itself well to learning a language as it can offer audio, video and personalised tutoring on the one platform. This essay will argue that online language learning has several distinct advantages over classroom instruction.

Learning a language online can be very convenient and time saving. Instead of travelling to school, I am able to study at home, in an office or while travelling to work on public transport. I can timetable my own study hours, setting time aside during the day and evening for this specific purpose. In this way I am able to organise my day in a way that suits me.

Online language learning can be personalised to meet my academic level and learning needs. A course can be tailored to my level, providing me with an individualised learning program. As well, I can work with a tutor to model language and answer my many questions. In this way a whole course can be organised to improve my language skills and help me meet my learning goals.

This essay has argued that online language learning has distinct advantages over classroom teaching in that it allows me to study where and when I want while being tailored to meet my individual learning needs. In my opinion an online course will help me meet my goals and desired outcomes.