Parents should be held legally responsible for their children’s act. What is your opinion? Support it with personal example.

Parental guidance plays an important role in children’s upbringing. Children are highly adaptive to environment they grow up. Although, some expertise believe that children’s behaviour is influenced by their parents and therefore, parents should be legally accountable for their behaviour, some disagree with this notion. This essay will discuss, parents should be responsible for children’s behaviour to a certain extent and children have ability to make good or bad choices.

Firstly, parents are held responsible for any good or bad behaviour of their offsprings. Children’s follow the footsteps of their parents, in terms of behavioural, physical, religious beliefs- making them true reflection of their parents and vice-versa. Parents sometimes forget to pay attention to their children and this affects their ability to make wise judgement. Similarly, constant pressure on children can push them away from parents and look for emotional support elsewhere, which could be dangerous as children might mix with bad company. Therefore, it can be said parents are to be held responsible for children’s choice of behaviour.

Secondly, education is an important tool in upbringing of children. If parents fail to dedicate time to their children, perhaps education institutions with value education can help them distinguish between right and wrong. For instance, nowadays students are provided with facilities at school such as counselling, school liaison police officers to make students aware of crime related incidents, teachers encouraging students to speak-up if they are being abused. Children’s can seek advice and hence it can be said, children do have a choice to make right decisions on their own.

To conclude, this essay discussed why parents attitude towards children either can be a pulse or a minus and children still can make right choices without parents involvement. In my opinion, it’s fair to held parents legally responsible for children’s behaviour.