Public Transport in India

Trains and buses are the main modes of public transport in India. India’s rail network is the longest in the world.

All rail operations in India are run by the state- owned company called Indian Railways. For over a century and a half, the Indian Railways has worked hard to make inroads into remote areas in an effort to provide communication.

Indian Railways is one of India’s most effective networks which keeps the social, economical, political and cultural labyrinth of the country together. Individual states have their state run buses that help people commute. These buses connect major cities and towns.

ADVERTISEMENTS:

After the trains, buses are the next choice for travellers. Buses carry more than 90 percent of public transport in Indian cities.

Most cities in India have minimal rail transport and as such depend on buses, minivans, auto rickshaws, cycle rickshaws and taxis for transportation. Mumbai, India’s most affluent city boasts of India’s most extensive suburban railway network, carrying more than 5 million passengers a day.

Despite possessing a big network of trains, the population so exceeds the services that getting in and out of the trains is nothing short of a miracle at peak hours. Yes, peak-hour trains carry more than twice the maximum design capacity of the trains.