As a result of advances in medical care, average life expectancy is increasing for men and women, Do you think most people will see this as a positive development? What are the disadvantages of an ageing population for individuals and society? Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

The average life expectancy has gone up, due to medical advances. This brings many issues with it, mostly financial and will continue to do so for the foreseeable future.

As birth rates all over the world have gone up and death rates have been steadily declining and imbalance has been created, leaving the world overpopulated. many ailments that simply didn't exist in the last century have now suddenly cropped up due to our increased lifespan. Contribution towards social health care will have to increase to accommodate this phenomenon. I've noticed over the past 10 years that medication for more and more illnesses aren't included in the "free" part of the public health system any more, and personal contributions have gone up.

In addition, the stereotype is that the elderly can't work, and this thinking will almost certainly be perpetuated in the workplace; this has (and will) put an enormous strain on benefits systems, as the work force will once again have to pay up. This has made the current recession very difficult to manage, as the majority of people have little disposable income left, ad cannot afford to contribute more to the welfare state, myself included.

Lastly, housing will become an even bigger problem that it is, as younger people generally don't mind living in shared accommodation, whereas the elderly prefer not to. The only exception is when they live in care homes, due to physical restraints. This has effected me personally: when I wanted my own space, it was almost impossible to receive a house from the council as most of them were earmarked for the retired.

In conclusion, the increased life expectancy is creating massive problems globally.