Should Age discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

Age has never been an indicator of the potential possessed by an individual. Discriminating older workforce for their age ignoring the skills they possess is unreasonable and unjust. It is violation of the basic right of equality, endorsed by all the democracies of the world.

While, organizations have all the rights to hire or fire an employee, this should only be based on merit. There is nothing to prove that older workers are less productive compared to their younger counterparts. If an older worker is unable to meet the challenging work requirements due to age, it directly makes him unfit for the position. In such cases, organization could look for a younger or more suitable replacement rather than determining the ability of the individual just by his age. Furthermore, practicing age discrimination at workplace will bring down the morale of entire workforce making them less faithful towards the employer.

On the contrary, mixed workforce can prove to be a boon to an institution. Old and young employees can complement each other and provide a competitive edge to the organization. For instance, Older workers, who are relatively more experienced, can mentor young employees while learning cutting edge technologies at the same time from them.

In conclusion, organization will benefit from older employees who will help it flourish even more. In order to protect individual’s rights and maintain a healthy work environment, I am of the opinion that age discrimination at workforce should be made illegal.