Should age discrimination be made illegal?

The importance of claiming that age discrimination should be made illegal, which has always been debatable for a long time, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of age discrimination has sparked controversy on the potential impact of this trend in recent years. It can be agreed that age discrimination is a real threat to society and the economy. This essay will elaborate on the negative aspect of age discrimination for older people and will lead to a logical conclusion.

Firstly, there are numerous reasons why age discrimination should be banned, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that elder people are far more experienced and can work better than new employees. For instance, older workers use their experience to accomplish the task and make fewer mistakes, but still, they are the first one to get fired. Therefore, age discrimination should be banned.

Secondly, the key justification for upholding the notion is rooted in the fact that old people are as good as new workers but when they get fired from one organization, they don't get hired in another organization. As an illustration, according to the recent survey conducted by the human welfare association has proven that companies prefer hiring young employees and they don't consider old people for the job. Consequently, the majority of the old workforce stays unemployed.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that the role of age discrimination has an adverse effect on older people. Hence, age discrimination should be made illegal.