Should the authorities from big cities around the world discourage citizens from using private cars and rather encourage them to use other means of transport such as bicycles, skates, the subway, etc.?

Transportation is the necessity of modern day life. People use cars, motorcycles etc. to move around the city to complete their day to day activities. These days, there is an ongoing debate between people that should it be discouraged to use private cars and encourage people to use other means of transport such as bicycles and the subways. In this essay, I will provide my point of view by analyzing both sides of the arguments.

Private cars are being used for transportation as it is the easiest possible way for those who have it. Though, if each person has his own private car then it will create other more severe problems. For instance, more private cars mean more traffic on the road which eventually causes more pollution. Moreover, more resources like oil will be consumed if the number of private car usage is increased. Hence, authorities need to discourage citizens from using private cars.

Those who argue that other means of transports should be used have a different view and say that it is actually a good thing. It is claimed that transport such as bicycles, skates are very healthy activities. For example, according to a study people who rid bicycle and skates have fewer chances of heart disease and obesity. Moreover, the use of subway is another mean of transportation which in fact the reason for sharing resources.

In a nutshell, it is a good approach to discourage citizens from using private cars and rather encourage them to use other means of health transport such as bicycles, skates etc.