Should the authorities from big cities around the world discourage citizens from using private cars and rather encourage them to use other means of transport such as bicycles, skates, the subway, etc.?

Transportation is the necessity of modern era. People use cars, motorcycles and other vehicles to fulfill their daily transport needs. These days, whether to use private cars or not, is becoming a question of debate. In this essay, I will provide my point of view by analyzing both sides of the argument.

Pollution caused by a numerous number of cars is becoming the leading cause for global warming. The emission of various harmful gases; such as carbon dioxide and nitrogen, from an increasing number of cars is playing a vital role in polluting our environment severely. For instance, a study done by the University of Texas showed that the ozone layer, surrounding the earth, is being damaged continuously due to the release of above mentioned hazardous gases. Therefore, making a trend of using personal vehicles is proving injurious to the well-being of the community.

On the other hand, people having their personal cars find an ease to move anywhere when needed. Private cars are being used for transportation as it is the easiest possible way. For example, according to a survey done in the early 21th century in the USA revealed that more than 70% of people secure their time by traveling in their own vehicles. Hence, having one's own car available at home can provide an effective way to save time in today's busy and hectic life.

In a nutshell, the essay discussed deleterious effects of possessing personal ways of transport as well as their possible positive aspects on the society.