Should government build more roads to allow more vehicle owner or improve the network of public transport?

Recently, the phenomenon of building more roads or improving the public transportation systems and its corresponding impacts sparked a heated debate. Although contest by many that completing public transportation facilities is highly beneficial, such issue is regarded both thoroughly constructive and positive by substantial numbers of individuals. I profoundly inclined to believe that more public transport network is essential, and this essay will examine both views of this regard by providing some academic evidence before concluding.

From a social and economic standpoint, instructing more roads could lead to improvement for vehicle industry as well as urban structure which ultimately could lead to creating more job opportunities. According to my own experience, when I was a university student, I conducted an academic survey about a residential area and its roads which provide some noticeable results. Thus, the ramification of both public accommodation and city roads and their effects on transportation system apparently can be seen.

Within the realm of science, improving public transportation facilities could lead to decreasing traffic jam. Moreover, according to an academic research conducted by a prestigious university, encouraging city-dwellers to use public transport can bring many advantages to both society and individuals by diminishing detrimental effects of air pollution. Not to mention that using private cars could bring many disadvantages such as more accident and increasing the death rate among society.

To recapitulate, I Pen down saying that although some groups tend to support using of private vehicles and as a consequence, tend to support building more roads, I highly inclined to believe that improving public transportation systems should be planned by authorities as well as increasing public awareness.