Smoking has long been known to cause health problems for smokers, however the effect of passive smoking is becoming an important health issue. Discuss the dangers of smoking to smokers and non smokers.

Inspite of the published and known dangers of the habit of smoking, it must be accepted that this vice is extremely popular amongst all age groups since the teens. However, it also must be admitted that this causes serious and irreversible damages to both, active and passive smokers. The risks for both are discussed further in detail with reasons and examples.

Discussing the dangers of smoking to smokers the most serious one is the lung problems. Here, the lungs are affected the most and also loses its capacity and elasticity. Apart from this, smokers often encounter oral issues/disorders which means their gums are often infected, and this may lead to precancerous and cancerous conditions. Digestive problems, cardiac complications and psychological upsets are not quite uncommon amongst smokers. This clearly point out that active smokers can have multiple health dangers.

On the other hand, it must not be forgotten that passive smokers too face grave problems. To begin with, people around and near the smokers can experience incessant coughing and irritation is the eyes and chest. Infect, the most adversely affected victims are the infants as well as pregnant women. To illustrate this point I cite an example/article that mentions that constant nearness to smokers by pregnant women can cause equivalent harm to the fetus as that an active smoker would. It may also lead to inborn deformities. Socially, the active smokers pose a bad example to the younger members and in some cases it may also drive the passive audience to take up smoking.

Thus, it can be deduced that although smoking is popular and considered as style statement and a status in the society, my discussion transparently proves that there are health and other risks lurking for both smokers and passive smokers.