Some cities have vehicle free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city centers. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis, and metro on vehicle free days.

To what extent do you think advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages.

One of the most conspicuous trends of today's world is implementing vehicle-free days, and encourage people to use public transport in those days. As such, there are both merits and demerits to this trend, although I am of the opinion that advantages of this always outweigh the disadvantages.

There are deluge of arguments in favor of my stance, why I am in favor of merits outweigh demerits. The most preponderant one is that using public transport, such as buses, taxis, and metro not only reduce the traffic but also control the pollution levels. For example, if each and every one of us support this cause, and use the public transport at least a day in a week, we are indirectly contributing towards controlling the global warming. Needless to say, all these benefits stand mankind in good stead when following vehicle-free days is concerned.

There are, however, some benefits that can easily overwhelm the potential drawbacks of something. Primarily, If everyone uses the public transportation, then, there might be a possibility of occurrence of inconvenience due to the lack of infrastructure to address all, But if Government made sure that they provide sufficient resources, this may not be a big issue. Hence, it is apparent why some people are against to this topic.

In view of arguments outlined above, one can conclude that despite some drawbacks, the benefits of using public transportation are too great to consider.