In some countries around the world, voting is compulsory. Do you agree with the notion of compulsory voting?

The importance of voting, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of compulsory voting in some countries has sparked contention over the potential impact of this trend in recent years. This essay will discuss that voting should not be compulsory.

Firstly, there are several reasons why voting should not be mandatory but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that it does not value the freedom of an individual. For instance, when I was a college student, I performed an academic experiment which discovered that there are a large number of people who do not wish to cast their vote as they do not trust in the politicians. Thus, the freedom to vote plays a vital role.

Secondly, the key justification for upholding this notion is rooted in the fact that compulsory voting does not always bring the deserving candidates in leadership roles. For example, research conducted by a prestigious university has asserted that eighty percent of the people believe that if they are forced to vote than they may bring an unworthy person to drive their country. Hence, choosing the right candidate in politics play a crucial role while voting.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that people should not be pressurized to cast their vote. Not only it challenges the basic freedom of a person but also it may bring a wrong person into politics which could have dire consequences for the country. Therefore, I profoundly believe that compulsory voting should be abolished.