In some countries around the world, voting is compulsory.Do you agree with the notion of compulsory voting?If it is compulsory in a democratic society, what conclusions can we draw about ‘Nature of democracy?’

In democracy, voting playes a major role. It allows people to choose their representative in the government. In some countries voting is mandatory and in few other countries voting is an optional choice. However, in my opinion, this essay agrees with the argument that voting should be mandatory for everyone so that it should help to make a healthy democracy. Many people believe that, if voting is enforced forcefully on the people, than what is the meaning of democracy? Making voting is a delicate issue and it should be discussed in detail before making it compulsory.

Without shadow of doubt, voting is consiter as an effictive tool. Voting allows people to make sure that the elected person should do good for them and make policies which are favourable to the people. However, this is not always the case. For instance; in country like India the average voting percentage is around 50% which is too low to make an effictive government. Making voting compulsory is a right way to insure that everyone is participating in democracy.

On the other hand, in some country voting is mandatory and everyone must vote in election. If they faild to vote without any valid reason, than there are provisions of heavy fines. For example, country like Australia, voting is mandatory for all their citizen up to certain age. If the person failed to vote, then he or she can't access his banking account for 3 months. As a result of this, Australia is one of the fastest growing country with stable political environment. So, making the voting mandatory proves that it is good to everone.

In conclusion, it is important to understand that in democracy, the rights for individual must be protected. Hence, it is not always good to make voting mandatory forcefully. The government should make people aware about the importance of voting first and manage this issue in a way that it should not impact the foundation of people's rights of freedom.