Some people argue that experience is the best teacher. Life experiences can teach more effectively than books or formal school education. How far do you agree with this idea? Support your opinion with reasons/ or your personal experience.

The importance of life experiences and school education, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of life experiences can teach more effectively than books or formal school education has sparked the controversy of the potential impact of this trend on the whole society in recent years. It can be agreed that life experience plays a vital role, though it has drawbacks. This essay will elaborate on how life experience can enlarge people’s life circle and how college education cultivates students' creative thinking skills, and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerable reasons why life experiences can teach more effectively than books or formal school education, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that life experiences enlarge the people’s life circle. As an illustration, I used my previous computer software work experience to assist my manager in a database project. Therefore, he thought I was intelligent in the IT area so he recommended me to attend some relevant events, which directly helped me to expand my life circle.

Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view and tend to believe that college education is more important than life experiences as there are innumerable reasons but the most salient one is that student’s creative thinking skills will improve during the study in the university. For instance, the research has invariably revealed that the Harvard University undergraduates’ creative thinking skill has dramatically increased by twenty percentage after they finished the final project report. Thus, the formal school education can improve students’ creative thinking skills.

In conclusion, from what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that the impact of life experience is prominent, although the improvement of people’s creative thinking skills should be well handled.