Some universities deduct students’ work if assignment is given late. What is your opinion and suggest some alternative actions?

The influence of some universities deducting students’ work if assignment is given late, which was always debatable, now has become more controversial. The substantial influence of universities cutting marks on students’ assignments has sparked controversy over the potential impact of this trend on the whole student group in recent years. It can be agreed that university’s deduction on student’s assignments plays a vital role for students, though it has drawbacks. This essay will elaborate on how deduction can improve students’ time management ability and how email reminders also can also benefit students, and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerable reasons why university deduction can bring some benefits for all students, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that deduction measures can improve students’ time management ability. As an illustration, the research has invariably revealed that students’ on-time submission rate of Duke University has dramatically increased three times compared with 2017 after deduction measures have been introduced to students. Therefore, university deduction measures bring a positive impact to students.

Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view and tend to believe that university deduction is harmful to students. Stanford University professors have to think about new ways of submitting given assignment work on time. The best solution for this is that lecturers can send an email reminder and ask them the problems or concerns that they are facing in submitting tasks. By using this method, the submission rate of students also has consecutively increased, and students also feel less pressure on their assignments.

In conclusion, from what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that the impact of university deduction is prominent, whereas email reminder is also a useful action.