Some universities deduct students’ marks if assignment is given late. What is your opinion and suggest some alternative actions?

Nowadays, whether universities should deduct marks from students' assignments if given in late or not has attracted numerous controversies and drawn attention from the public. Some people agree with the university, while others hold the opposite view. From my perspective, I strongly concur with the former.

First and foremost, the point deduction is fair to the students who submit their assignments on time, and it can also help those who do not on time become more discipline. To be more specific, under the pressure of deducting scores, students will try to arrange their own time properly. For example, they can make an appointment with friends to finish homework at a certain time and then play together.

Meanwhile, another factor should be considered is that if there is no punishment for late assignments, the learning environment will be terrible. In other words, if one student doesn't hand in his homework on time and get away with it, more and more students will follow suit. However, if they find it difficult to finish the task on time, I suggest they can ask the teacher for guidance. For example, when they encounter problems and need time to solve it, they can apply for an extension from the tutor.

In conclusion, I hold the view that students should be penalized for late homework, To address this issue, the university and students should make joint efforts.