Some universities deduct students’ marks if assignment is given late. What is your opinion and suggest some alternative actions?

In this modern world, most of the universities evaluate students using assignment based examinations. While some people argue that universities should deduct marks for the late submission of assignments, on my point of view I agree with that arguement because timeliness is one of a major fdactors which effects to personal carreer. In this essay, I shall discuss factors in strengthening my arguement while analyzing both sides of the argument.

Firstly, a lecturer has to provide sufficient time for the assignment, because students need time for research meanwhile balancing their social life and other studies as well. For instance, if the study is too complex lecturers should provide more time compared to the time allowed for theoratical subjects. In addition, lecturers has to appreciate students dedication with high marks.

On the other hand, some people argue that, students should not be penolized for their inability to meet the deadlines. For an examples, if they do not deduct marks for late submission students will not have a n enthusiasm on the subject and there isa risk of not carrying out the assignment as well. However, lecturers are also adviced to look into the situation of the student before deducting their marks. They can also see the past records of the student i arriving this decision.

In conclusion it is recommended to, provide assignments with sufficient intervals because some students can get fed of doing assignments continuously especially when they are studying while being employed. Teachers can encourage students for assignments by adding a proportion of the assignmet marks to the final evaluation by eliminating the pressure of the final exam. Finally, it is also believed to provide interesting topics for the assignments to stimulate students in engaging the task.