Some people believe laws can change human behavior. Do you agree with this statement?

There are a great number of people who interpret the impacts of imposing laws as thoroughly positive and constructive, while there are also a number of people who hold an opponents’ view whereas I am inclined to believe that imposing laws change human perception and behavior. I will discuss my viewpoint in the coming paragraphs.

There are several reasons why imposing law is advantageous for a society. First of all, it is argued that the fear of being punished plays a pivotal role in the way people behave and it may further be attributed by the fact that knowing the possibilities of different penalties, people will be compelled to constantly remind themselves about the harmful consequences of breaking laws, so that they become more accountable and responsible about their actions. For example, the defamation law is highly regarded as a fundamental right to protect the reputation of individuals and organizations.

In addition, it is also claimed that imposing laws could enormously and constructively shape our perception about having a positive life. This is to say that legislation inevitably leads people to think about the consequences of their actions, therefore, it might specialize some characteristics in people which might stimulate them to acquire positive outcome in their personal and professional life. For example, in Malaysia, the government has imposed a high tax on alcoholic beverages which has consequently led to a low consumption of these beverages.

In conclusion, the aforementioned discussion on the topic propounds that imposing law is beneficial for individuals and organizations. However, it is recommended that authorities should introduce regulated laws to avoid human rights violations.