Some people claim that public transport should be free of charge, while other disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this modern world, one of the controversial issues is related to providing public transport without any charge. Some people are in favor of making all services free of charge. While some individuals believe that free services will lose their importance. This contentious topic has been profoundly debated in several forums. In my opinion, both sides have pros and cons. I will reason both the views meticulously and give my opinion from a bird's eye-stance.

Throwing light on first view, free transport will decrease traffic on roads because people will prefer to use public transport instead using their personal vehicles. A person who prefer to use common transportation will help to decrease carbon emission in the environment which will eventually help to solve the global warming problem. Moreover, a free service will decrease use of private options for long commute as it more economical for them. For example, according to The Business Times every person in the world spends 10-20% of their income on commute.

Paradoxically, any cost-free service cannot survive for a long time as it is a burden on the economy and the government of that specific region. Countries those provide these kind services has to gather money by any other means which at last effects their residents only. For instance, if government pays for free metro services then all spending on these services will be covered by increasing taxes on other products.

To summaries, I personally feel that instead of a completely free service, government should try subsidized services which will attract more people towards these services and help to keep running these facilities.