Some people only have pets to not feel lonely, for example, but they don’t always take proper care of them. Do you think people who don’t always take proper care of their pets should be allowed to keep them?

There are various reasons why people choose to have pets: sometimes it is because they find certain animals really nice and just wish to have them; sometimes it is because they want to rescue abandoned or abused animals; and sometimes it is because they simply don’t want to feel lonely, among much more. I believe that in any case, if pets are not taken care of properly, their “owners” should not be allowed to have them.

First of all, I think that not taking proper care of a pet is equivalent to mistreating it, which is cruel. For example, people who decide to become owners of baby dogs that they know will grow up to be huge, like Great Danishes, should be required to live in a place which includes large open spaces where the dog will be able to run freely once it has grown up. Otherwise, it will grow up unhappy, without having been able to develop its physical potentials.

On the other hand, unfortunately, there are many ill people in the world who cannot lead a normal life. For instance, people who are paralyzed might find a great deal of comfort in having a pet around them, since other people cannot always provide the affection they need even if they are always near them. I believe this reason for having a pet represents a good cause. Nevertheless, when one looks at the big picture, one realizes that in a way, this would actually imply also paralyzing the animal, since what kind of care can a paralyzed person provide to an animal who needs to do plenty exercise in order to stay healthy?

To sum up, from my point of view, any person who cannot take proper care of a pet should not be allowed to.