Some people think that life experience is more important than the formal education provided in schools and

universities. How far do you agree with this statement, and provide examples?

Nowadays, whether real life experience outweighs the formal education provided has attracted numerous controversies and drawn the attention of the general public. Some consider that life experience is immensely more valuable compared to the theories learned from school, while others hold the view that knowledge obtained from education is just as crucial. In my opinion, I am inclined towards life experience being more beneficial than theories learned from schools.

Unquestionably, the real world is extremely complex as there are always new problems that arise. It has always been difficult in the transition phase of life, especially from school to work. Moreover, the real world is cruel and a lot of times the theories learnt from schools could not be applied which could be particularly frustrating. For example, after graduation I started work as a podiatrist and the skills I acquired in university were useless and ineffective on many occasions.

Moreover, another factor that should be considered is the stressful environment. It is a general perception that students experience less stress and encounter less problems than workers. For most of them, they do not need to worry about the financial stress, their primary concerns are assignments and examinations.

In conclusion, I hold the view that real life experience is more important than the formal education provided in institutes because of the complexity of the real world and that the stress of students is only a fraction of what workers perceive. To address these issues, governments and society should make concerted effort to seek solutions.