Some people think that students benefit from going to private secondary schools. Others, however, feel that private secondary schools can have a negative effect on society as a whole. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In order to choose the right type of secondary school, you need to weigh all of the options open to you. It is a highly debated issue whether private secondary schools are good or bad for society. In the following paragraphs, I intend to delve into the pros and cons of private secondary schools.

On the positive side, most of the private schools offer smaller classroom size and so the child can receive more individual attention from teachers. It is a well-known fact that secondary education is very important because in most cases the career is based on secondary school subjects. Secondly, private secondary schools offer better academic and extracurricular programs. As a result, there are lower drop-out rates. Finally, there is less on-campus violence

in private schools as compared to government schools. This is because students realize that their parents are spending huge sums of money on their schooling and so they are more

serious in studies.

On the downside, there is less diversity in private schools as compared to the public government) schools. As a result, children will meet fewer peers from diverse backgrounds because of the

tuition fee. Secondly, private secondary schools don’t conform strictly to educational

regulations. So, you have to do a lot of effort to select the right school for your child.

Finally, these schools are very expensive and consequently increase the gap between the rich

and the poor. The children from affluent backgrounds can afford these schools and get the quality

education because of which they get into the best universities for higher education. The

disadvantaged children of poor backgrounds find it very difficult to compete with them in all

spheres of life. So, these create an imbalance in society.

Summing up, private secondary schools are providing quality education and are a boon for

society. However, they should have some relaxation in fees for the meritorious students of

poor backgrounds so that their disadvantages are minimized.