Successful sports stars and glamorous film stars are role models for
youngsters. Do you support it or not?
The role of celebrities, be it in sports or in entertainment, as a role model for
youngsters is widely debated, with many people claiming that these famous
personalities have hardly any didactic purpose to serve. In my opinion, this notion
merits serious consideration.
Following celebrities by youngsters is of myriad concerns. The most conspicuous one
is that these famous personalities often show the brighter side of their lifestyle. Most
of the inner aspects of their characteristics are hidden from the public. They are
involved in a race against each other to gain name, fame and money. Attaining
worldly desires seems to be their sole objective. No matter how positive their
appearance might look, they are unhappy in their family life. They suffer from other
mental complications like depression, frustration, loneliness and the like. Out of
despair, many of them resort to drugs and some even commit suicide. There is no
denying that with all these concerns, no one would recommend that a teenager should
pursue an artificial life like this.
Another overt facet of celebrities is that rarely do they possess such essential
attributes as moral and ethical values that are deemed vital in becoming a good human
being. As such, they are often seen brawling over insignificant things, verbally
assaulting their counterparts and what not. Thanks to the ubiquity of the Internet and
the popularity of the social networking sites, youngsters who are both immature and
vulnerable are readily exposed to these altercations. Apparently, the likelihood that
these shallow, artificial and greedy people will benefit youths in shaping their beliefs
and ideologies in a positive way is bleak indeed. Teenagers should rather imitate the
lifestyle of their parents or teachers, who possess a deluge of qualities, from sincerity and honesty to perseverance and dedication. There is no doubt that youths can benefit
from these practical role models astronomically.
From what has been discussed, one can conclude that the drawbacks associated with
the youth’s imitating the lifestyle of celebrities far outweigh the upsides, if any.