Throughout the great part of the 16th and 17th centuries, the Catholic Church feared ideas that they considered to be a heretic because they did not agree with the Bible. Their fear was so big that they persecuted scientists who formed theories the Church considered heretical and banned people from reading any books on those subjects by including them in their list of prohibited books. This triggered a type of battle between science and religion. There would be more casualties on the side of science.

Two scientists who printed books that later became banned were Copernicus and Galileo. Copernicus didn’t suffer persecution during his lifetime because he perished in a short time after publishing his most controversial book. However, Galileo was judged by the Inquisition following the publishing of his book. Both men of science supported the same theory that the Earth revolved around the Sun, a theory known to be true. But the religious institution disapproved of this theory because the Holy Scriptures state that our planet is at the center, not the Sun. Since the Bible was taken literally, the publishing of these books “confirmed” to the religious institution that Copernicus and Galileo were sinners: they seemed to teach through their writings that the Bible was wrong. In one of his books, On the Revolutions of the Heavenly Bodies, published in 1543, briefly before his death, Copernicus states that the Sun is at the center and the Earth revolves around it while rotating on its axis daily. It’s also worth mentioning that Copernicus wrote in Latin -just like all the other well-educated authors of the times, which only educated people could read, effectively minimizing the number of readers to a select few.

The Catholic Church ideas that they considered to be a heretic because they did not agree with the Bible, moreover the Bible was taken literally, the publishing of these books "confirmed"to the religioous institution that copernicus and Galileo were sinners, besides this other well educated authors of the times, which only educated people could read.