Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes is one of the most widely used drugs in the world. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long-term health costs are high- for the smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity.Do Governments have a legitimate role in protecting citizens from the harmful effects of their own decisions to smoke, or are such decisions up to an individual?"

Consuming tobacco in the form of cigarettes by many individual causes many health problems which is hard to be treated in a later stage, it also very difficult to leave drug like tobacco as it influences an individual to not leave such. In my view based on the above stance, I believe, both government and individual should take responsibilities in order to curb the consumption of tobacco from the society. We will discuss the ways in which government and individual could do so.

Firstly, the government has all the eligible power to promote the side effects of having cigarettes, this would cause widespread awareness of having tobacco in form of cigarettes could seriously affect health. Also, Governments should emphasize medical institute to produces drugs such that it would help the tobacco user to quit, as being an addictive drug it is necessary to have anti-addictive drugs that could suppress the addiction of drugs like tobacco. This shows how the government could play a vital role in reducing the consumption of tobacco.

Secondly, form an individual perspective, one might find it difficult, as tobacco being highly addictive drugs. But with the willpower and self-realization of the responsibilities, one could do so. There are proven example around the globe that one could find who have removed themselves from this addictive drugs. Therefore an individual with their willpower could help themselves to not consume drug like tobacco.

To recapitulate, according to the preceding discussion, I am inclined to the opinion that government and each individual can collaboratively help to reduce the consumption of tobacco and also curb the addiction of it thus restricting the consumption of cigarettes as well.