In town and cities, the large shopping mall should replace the small local shop. Do you agree or disagree?

The idea of shopping malls having a large number of stores that sell diverse products and services is widely debated with many people claiming that the benefits it offers are no match for its drawbacks. However, I do not entirely accept this and I will explain why in this essay.

One of the most conspicuous aspects is that shopping malls house a collection of retail stores and restaurants along with a plenty of parking space. Not only do shopping malls eliminate parking problem by providing parking either free of charge or for a nominal fee, but they also contribute a great deal to make shopping convenient with such stores as groceries, shoes, food courts and the like under one roof. Needless to say, all these merits stand consumers in good stead as far as eliminating shopping hassle is concerned.

There are, however, some pitfalls that can easily overwhelm the potential benefits of shopping malls. Primarily, they are excessively crowded, especially on weekends and on holidays. Besides, crowded stores make shopping difficult and people often end up forgetting items they need to buy. Hence, it is apparent why many are in against of big shopping malls.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that despite some drawbacks, the benefits of big shopping malls are indeed too great to ignore.