Travel to study is overrated, we have brilliant scholars who studied locally. Is travel really required for higher studies?

Recently, the phenomenon of studying abroad and its corresponding impacts has sparked a heated debate. Although contested by many that spending some courses in high-level university could be rewarding, such issue is regarded thoroughly both positive and constructive. I profoundly inclined to believe that studying abroad has both merits and demerits, and this essay will examine both sides of this issue before concluding.

On the one hand, from an academic standpoint, spending some years in foreign universities, especially in developed countries, could bring many advantages for both society and students. Firstly, the quality of education is much better in top-notch universities than in local ones. Secondly, the range of subjects are colorful and students have a wide variety of options to choose from. Finally, according to an academic survey conducted by Tehran University in 2015, studying abroad could broaden student’s outlook to their future life and career, in addition, to get familiar with the new culture, which helps young learners to increase their mental horizon.

On the other hand, studying in different countries, specifically in western countries, may have some drawbacks. University’s cost in these countries are mostly high and it leads to many economic problems for both students and their families. Furthermore, many of these students may face with cultural shocked, which eventually cause depression or even left the schools. According to an academic research conducted by Melbourne University, 37% of their foreign students could not finish their courses due to the cultural problems or even economic situations.

To recapitulate, I Pen down saying that although some individuals argued that studying abroad may have some drawbacks, I tend to think that its benefits far outweigh its downsides. However, students must be wise enough to handle tough mental and economic situation by themselves.