Violence portrayed on TV and in the movies leads to an increases in crime in our society. People who watch violent movies are more likely to become criminals. Do you agree or disagree?

Television in the present world has become an integral part of our daily life. It plays a vital role in providing us valuable information, knowledge, and news from all over the world. However in recent days, increased explicit content and the violence portrayed on TV and movies has resulted in people becoming more violent and more likely to become criminals. I completely agree with the above statement and this will be discussed using a pragmatic approach.

To commence with, increasing crime scenes and movies on television impacts the young audiences in an adverse manner. Actors and celebrities undertaking the crime, aggressive and brutal scenes in various movies act as a role model for the young audiences. As a result of this, the young audience imitates them resulting in serious consequences including serious crimes, murders, offences, illegal matters and activities. For instance, a research conducted by Mass Media Authority in Australia reveals that more than 75 percent of the audiences are influenced by the actions on the TV and tries to undertake the same at some point in their life.

On the other hand, some people believe that these violent movies and crimes displayed on the television can have positive results if perceived in a positive manner. If the audiences get the right message or is made aware of the consequences such as life-imprisonment, death penalties, they will get a positive message and will refrain themselves from getting into such activities again.

To put it in a nutshell, it can be concluded that despite having few positive impacts, he negative impacts of the violent scenes cannot be ignored. Therefore, the positive use of television should be promoted, however, its excessive and misuse should be condemned.