“In a war of ideas, it is people who get killed”. Does a common man suffer from a group’s ideology? Express your opinion, and support the same with reasons and examples.

Man being a social animal usually prefers to belong to a group. Sometimes personal ideas may vary from that of the group. It is agreed that common man suffers from group’s ideology. Many groups with fringe ideas force a common man to act in group’s interest as well as deprive him of his liberty.

It is felt by many that common man often sears from the heat caused by groups ideology. This has been apparent since time immemorial. For example, in 1960’s, America’s ruling party congress was anti-communism and decided to send its troops to Vietnam’s to support the Democratic party. Many common Americans were forced to join the military to participate in this war. It goes without saying in spite of people’s unwillingness to follow the group, he has to be the victim of group’s ideology.

Moreover, wars stemming from various ideology deprives a person of his liberty. In a recent case of Islamic State, few people with extreme ideology are killing innocent people in the name of religion. People living in IS invaded areas have to act according to these people’s fringe ideologies where a common man who has nothing to do with it is being killed ruthlessly. Thus this argument in support of rubric is difficult to debunk.

In a nutshell, wars of ideas compel a common man to act against his will as well as robs him of his freedom. Henceforth, the general public has to pay a heavy price for groups ideology. As long as groups work in their self-interest, this trend is unlikely to dissipate.