What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in a developing country?

The most conspicuous trends of today's world is increasing tourism in a developing country. As such, there are both merits and demerits, although I am of opinion that the former outdo the latter.

There are wide range of arguments in favour of my stance. The most preponderant one is that tourism creates a great income for the economy, for examples developing country like Sri Lanka earn the highest income from visitors. Not only can a country earn money from tourism, but it contributes to the development of the country. Needless to say, all these merits stand human in good stead, as far as developing is concerned.

On the other hand, there are some drawbacks that can easily affect the development, environment, and other important factors of the country. Furthermore, without a good waste management system, people can throw garbage into the water, and land. However, these things can be avoided by organizing effective awareness programs and introducing rules. Then, a country can get the most advantages from tourism and hence, it is apparent why many are favour of the benefits of tourism.

In view of the argument outlined above, one can conclude that despite some drawbacks, the benefits of the tourism in developing country are too great to ignore.