Without capital punishment our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Capital punishment also called death penalty is when a state sentences an individual for a crime that is considered serious according to its laws. Though every human should have the right to live, it can be argued that serious offences should be punished in accordance with the crime, which sometimes deserves capital punishment.

Capital punishment is the right of the state to take away the life of the guilty. Critics of this punishment argue that every person has the right to live and no one, not even the state should have the right to take it away. Only nature and no man can exercise this right.

Nevertheless, capital punishment is a justifiable punishment. From an economic point of view, the taxes of the citizens should not be wasted on providing for a criminal whose mere existence is a threat to the society. Socially, these people do not add any value to the society and reforming them isn’t an option.

In addition, capital punishment acts a deterrent to heinous crimes and is an apt punishment for the crime. Pardoning a serious crime sends a wrong message to the criminals encouraging them. Also, the pacifists’ judgement might aggrieve the victim or the society for not giving the deserved punishment.

In conclusion, capital punishment is a necessary punishment in a nation in the case of heinous crimes. The positives of this punishment outweigh the negatives. For maintaining law and order, it is necessary to prevent crime and give justice to the victim.